Beerings Around Town Tonight

This Friday, like every Friday, the Avenue Pub will be tapping a firkin of cask ale.  If you are a cask ale fanatic like myself, this is generally a not-to-be-missed occasion.  Cask ale is woefully rare in New Orleans, so I try to get out and support it as much as possible.  (I have some vague pinings to organize a Real Ale Festival along the lines of NERAX, but I think it may be far beyond my organizational capabilities.  Which are, may I add, formidable.)

TONIGHT’S CASK: a lovely beer from Stillwater Artisanal Brewing, their Autumnal beer, an “American Farmhouse” ale (at 7.2% ABV, that is some smooth drinkin’).  I’ve had it on the draft, and it was great, and I think it will translate awesomely to cask.

NEXT WEEK’S CASK: The newly released 2011-12 Irish Channel Stout from NOLA Brewing! (don’t forget, the unveiling will be Wed., 12/7 at the Irish House) The cask on 12/16 will be Brooklyn Brown, which, as a English style brown ale, should be beautifully suited to the medium.

Of course, every Friday at 2pm is the NOLA Brewing tour, which I highly recommend.

What else is going on tonight?  Anyone else heading to the Avenue Pub to have some cask ale (and other delicious brews)?  Both Beer Buddha and myself should be in attendance for a little while at least.

2 responses to “Beerings Around Town Tonight

  1. Every first Friday of the month – tonight, 12/2 around 6PM – we have a cask at The Crown and Anchor Pub too – This month’s flavor is NOLA Blonde Ale dry hopped with East Kent Goldings and Fuggles. Come by!!!

  2. Ooh! I really do keep meaning to come out there.

Leave a Reply

